September 2016’s Approximately Monthly Missive

[I am uploading to this blog earlier e-mail blasts I sent out that I am collecting together now under the guise of  “Jim’s Approximately Monthly Missives.” In the future I will be posting them here first and then sharing links to them in the hopes that comments will come here in a more publicly engaging way than when I send them out via the bcc feature in my email. I hope you find them stimulating and thought-provoking. This one was originally sent out on 14 September 2016 with the Subject line reading, “Join me Sept. 28…and a few simple things to do with me for peace.” -Jim]

Dear Friends,

[Below this first, important event announcement are a couple of on-line actions to take on behalf of the Bedouins I got to know on my July trip the report-back is about. Also, some follow up on my/our work to stop the increasing militarization of police tools, training and tactics, and finally, save-the-date info for when the amazing, nonviolent organizer from Hebron, Issa Amro of Youth Against Settlements, is speaking around northern California. Thanks for reading on, and coming out.   Yours, Jim]

Please join me for a report-back about the delegation to Palestine I went on in July that was organized by the Center for Jewish Nonviolence (CJNV),
Wednesday, September 28, 7:00 to 9:00 pm
Alan Blueford Center for Justice 2434 Telegraph Ave. Oakland, CA 94612.
 
Here is the link to the Facebook event I created. RSVP’s appreciated but not necessary. 

Donation hat will be passed and will be shared with CJNV, our Palestinian partners, and the Alan Blueford Center. Here is a link to some photos I took on the trip. The presentation on Sept. 28 will NOT be a mere re-showing of these images. What I experienced were all of the following: upsetting and inspiring, chilling and touching, profound and pathetic. We were a group of 50 Jewish activists following the direction of our outstanding Palestinian partners in their “existence is resistance” struggle for liberation. The oppression and dispossession are worsening in the weeks since my return, so I am compelled to share about it any way possible, as soon as possible, as much as possible. Get in touch if you want more references, or if you want more details, or if you want to set up something more.
Here is a link to a radio interview with me with KALW’s Dore Stein on the August 20 edition of Tangents about the CJNV trip. Tangents is dedicated to genre-blending, cross-cultural music. Each week, Dore’s show includes a segment called “Gaza Corner” that has news from the Middle East. I was honored to be a rare guest in studio. Go to the link and scroll down to August 20. I also got to pick and introduce a couple of songs as a musical interlude, so it was also the debut of my alter-ego, dj-i-m!
To my Las Vegas friends: I will be in Las Vegas from October 6 to 12 for the national Catholic Worker gathering. I will be giving a report on the CJNV delegation on Saturday, October 8 from 9:45 to 11:15 am. 500 Van Buren St., 89106. It is free and open to the public. I would like to gather with friends the Thursday prior to that in the evening, but am still not sure how formal to make that. If you have an idea, share it with me, and if you’re feeling flexible, keep the evening open for whatever moves us.
ONLINE ACTION ITEM 1:
Please sign this petition to get the United States Treasury Department to stop according federal nonprofit status to Regavim, an organization that is actively promoting the destruction of Bedouin communities on behalf of encroaching, Jewish-only settlements. They are dispossessing the Palestinians including villagers I lived and worked with in July in Susiya and Umm Il-Kheir. Please sign and circulate the petition. It is part of a growing effort to undercut U.S. support for the increasingly brutal apartheid system Israel has put in place.
ONLINE ACTION ITEM 2:
 From Donna Baranski-Walker of the Rebuilding Alliance:

> On International Peace Day, September 21st, three Palestinian children and their parents and guardians will address Congress. They are from Susiya, Umm al Kheir and Al Aqaba, all villages in Area C of the West Bank that experienced unjustified home demolitions in this past year. It doesn’t have to be like this.
>
> The children with their Pinwheels for Peace will tell Congress of their vision for peace. Their briefing is scheduled for 2pm in the Hart Senate Office Building, Room 902 on Sep. 21st.
> Please click here to send an email invitation to your Members of Congress. On Sept. 21, they are bringing Bedouin children to testify before Congress will deliver Pinwheels for Peace to them!

I encourage you all to sign up for notices from the Rebuilding Alliance. They are involved in many impactful ways with and on behalf of our Bedouin friends (as well as getting construction materials to Gaza and solar-powered lights to children there).
STOP URBAN SHIELD: MAJOR PUSH CONTINUES TO STOP 2017 EXPO!
Finally, I want to say that it has been an honor to organize as a representative of Jewish Voice for Peace in the Stop Urban Shield Coalition which organized a very successfully disruptive morning of action last Friday in Pleasanton. The work is not over. In fact, action now and for the next month is crucial. WE HAVE A CHANCE TO CONVINCE THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS NOT TO FUND THE 2017 URBAN SHIELD, BUT ACTION NOW UNTIL MID-OCTOBER IS CRUCIAL.
ON MONDAY, PLEASE ATTEND:
Stop Urban Shield Town Hall
September 19, 7:00 to 9:00 pm
West Oakland Youth Center
3233 Market St., Oakland
At this public forum, the new, outstanding, 10-page report prepared by the SUS research team will be presented, and organizing efforts for the next month will be discussed since this is the time when the county Board of Supervisors is deciding on whether or not to host Urban Shield again in 2017.
We have a real chance of stopping the 2017 Urban Shield! I get chills thinking about the message that would send. JOIN US!
ISSA AMRO, FOUNDER OF HEBRON’S YOUTH AGAINST SETTLEMENTS SPEAKING IN NOR. CALIFORNIA IN OCTOBER!
And from October 19 to 25, Issa Amro, founder of Hebron’s Youth Against Settlements will be in northern California. He was amazing to work with. We totally followed his lead, and he is a powerhouse of an angel. You want to meet him! For details, check out his schedule. but here is a sketch of his dates:
Oct. 19: Sacramento
Oct. 20: Santa Rosa
Oct. 21: Oakland and Berkeley
Oct. 22 afternoon and Oct. 23 morning: Santa Cruz
Oct. 24: San Francisco
There is still some availability, and we’re working to get him on the radio as much as possible. Contact me for more info.
That is it for this blast from me. They have been monthly, approximately, and are prompted by work I am engaged in that I think/hope my friends and family will maybe be interested in learning about if not actively joining me in. They are long-ish, but few-ish. If you don’t like getting them, tell me, or just delete them.
Solidaritally yours,
Jim Haber
This entry was posted in Jim's Approximately Monthly MIssives, Nonviolence, Palestine Israel Zionism Isalmophobia Antisemitism and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

